Dear Advising Community,

On behalf of the Advising Council and our awards selection committee, I am pleased to announce the recipients of our excellence in advising awards for 2016 and to express my sincere thanks to all our nominees for their outstanding contributions this year. The selection committee had a pool of very talented individuals to choose from and we want to acknowledge our many nominators and contributors to this difficult selection process. 

This award recognizes the positive impact our recipients have on student learning, performance, engagement and progress and the many ways they contribute to a culture of advising excellence on the Berkeley campus. Congratulations to each of you on this important achievement. 

We hope all of you will be available to join us for our year-end celebration and recognition ceremony on December 12, 4:00 - 6:00 p.m. Please RSVP for this event here.

Best wishes and thank you for making Berkeley a better place for students.


Cathy Koshland
Vice Chancellor for Undergraduate Education


2016 Excellence in Advising Award Recipients

The Mary Slakey Howell Excellence in Advising Award

Julian Ledesma and Fabrizio Mejia, Centers for Educational Equity

Service Award Recipient

Rebecca Sablo, College of Natural Resources

Award for Outstanding Faculty Advising

Charisma Acey, College of Environmental Design

Karen Frick, College of Environmental Design

Caroline Williams, Integrative Biology

Award for Managerial Excellence

Susan Hagstrom, College of Environmental Design

Award for Outstanding Advising

Dolann Adams, Haas School of Business

Laura Imai, College of Letters & Science

Roxanne Heglar, College of Natural Resources

Award for Outstanding New Advisor

Ricky Vides, College of Natural Resources

Nancy Trinh, College of Environmental Design

Lauren Krupa, Master of Development Practice

Award for Outstanding Team

Haas Evening and Weekend MBA Program

Courtney Chandler

Janelle Hofeditz

Kate Bonk

Avni Kansara

Rachel York

Amanda Gill

Vicki Orlando

Jennifer Low

Department of Political Science

Efrat Cidon

Suzanne McDermott