Advising Council

The Advising Council and Advising Council Executive Committee


Charge of Advising Council

UC Berkeley’s Advising Council Executive Committee and Advising Council are representative leadership bodies formed in 2012 to better coordinate advising to improve the student experience.

The Advising Council Executive Committee meets quarterly and provides the strategic direction and campus-level vision for advising. The committee makes decisions concerning recommendations supporting excellence in advising that do not fall clearly under the purview of any other policy-making body. It also provides oversight for the campus-wide programs that support the development of a culture of excellence in advising.

The Advising Council Commitment to Excellence

The Council:

  • Promotes effective advising strategies that support and positively transform the student experience
  • Identifies opportunities for improvement, knowledge-sharing, and collective strategic planning on student systems and policies
  • Connects the academic and co-curricular advising community to build dialogues and mutually beneficial partnerships
  • Incentivizes and rewards excellence, engagement and professional development
  • Supports assessment and program level effectiveness with a focus on the student experience
  • Supports an active communications network designed to inform, engage and inspire the advising community


The Advising Council Executive Committee membership for 2019-20 is:

  • Catherine P. Koshland (chair), Vice Chancellor for Undergraduate Education 
  • Oscar Dubón, Vice Chancellor, Equity and Inclusion
  • Lisa García Bedolla, Dean of the Graduate Division
  • Susan Hagstrom, Manager, Advising Strategy & Training
  • Bob Jacobsen, Dean of Undergraduate Studies, College of Letters & Science
  • Jonah Levy, Chair, Undergraduate Council
  • Femi Ogundele, Assistant Vice Chancellor and Director of Undergraduate Admissions
  • Stephen C. Sutton, Vice Chancellor, Student Affairs

The Advising Council is chaired by the Vice Chancellor for Undergraduate Education and includes the L&S Dean of Undergraduate Studies, the Directors of Advising in the five undergraduate colleges and the Haas Undergraduate Program, the Associate Dean of Students, a representative designated by the Vice Chancellor for Equity and Inclusion, a representative designated by the Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs, a representative designated by the Dean of the Graduate Division, a representative designated by the Vice Chancellor for Undergraduate Education, four  faculty representatives from the Academic Senate, a  student representative from  the Graduate Assembly, a student representative from the ASUC.  In addition, the Vice Chancellor for Undergraduate Education may designate additional staff representatives as appropriate to ensure representation across the campus.

Advising Council

Catherine P. Koshland  
Vice Chancellor, Undergraduate Education

Micki Antovich
Assistant Dean of Students and Director, New Student Services

Dan Melia
Academic Senate Representative, Undergraduate Council 

Elan Barnett
ASUC Representative

Sandra Bass
Director, Public Service Center

Ella Callow
ADA/Section 504 Compliance Officer, Office of Disability Access & Compliance

Susan Cass
Manager, Central Evaluation Unit

Maura Daly
Director of Undergraduate Student Services, College of Chemistry

Amber Dillon
NACADA Region 9 Chair 

Joshua Dullaghan
Assistant Dean, College of Natural Resources 

Ivor Emmanuel
Director, Berkeley International Office 

Barbara Felkins
Director of Academic Affairs, Haas Undergraduate Program

Roseanne Fong
Director, L&S Undergraduate Advising

Cruz Grimaldo
Assistant Vice Chancellor & Director of Financial Aid and Scholarships

Susan Hagstrom
Manager, Advising Strategy and Training

Bob Jacobsen
Dean of Undergraduate Studies, College of Letters & Science

Cynthia Ladd-Viti
Interim Director, Office for Graduate Diversity

Julian Ledesma
Executive Director, Centers for Educational Equity and Excellence (CE3)

Sunny Lee
Dean of Students

Rhea Manoharan
Undergraduate Student Representative

Chris McLean
Assistant Director, University Health Services, Counseling and Psychological Services

Fabrizio Mejia
Assistant Vice Chancellor, Student Equity and Success

Dan Melia
Academic Senate Representative, Undergraduate Council

Sharon Mueller
Director of Advising and Policy, College of Engineering

Clara Ng-Quinn
DAG Representative & Advisor in Molecular and Cell Biology

Khuyen Nguyen
Executive Associate Director, Student Learning Center

Marissa Nichols
Director, Cameron Institute

Femi Ogundele
Assistant Vice Chancellor and Director of Undergraduate Admissions

Graduate Student Representative

Michele Rabkin
Associate Director, Berkeley Connect

Omar Ramirez
Director, Undergraduate Advising, College of Environmental Design 

Andrea Rex
Assistant Dean, Graduate Division

Rebecca Sablo
Associate Registrar

Chris Stanich
Associate Vice Chancellor of Financial Planning & Analysis

Denzil Streete
Chief of Staff & Assistant Dean for Diversity

Steve Sutton
Vice Chancellor, Student Affairs

Derek Van Rheenen
Director, Athletic Study Center

Academic Senate Representative, Graduate Council

Staff support to the Council:

Cindy Bumgarner
Chief of Staff, Undergraduate Education

Leslie Harlson
Project Manager/Analyst, Undergradaute Education

Rhiannon Lewis
Project Manager/Analyst, Undergradaute Education

Sereeta Alexander
Director, Office of Planning and Analysis

Audrey Thomas
Institutional Research Analyst, VCUE/Office of Planning and Analysis